## IAU GENERAL ASSEMBLY COMMISSION 22 BUSINESS MEETING - MINUTES.

Held at the Prague Congress Center (room Club B) on 24 <sup>th</sup> August 2006 (9:00-10:30).

## Present:

Abe, Babadzhanov, Baggaley, Borovicka, Bowell, Ceplecha, Consolmagno, Jenniskens, Kolomiets, Koten, Marsden, Porubcan, Spurny, Valsecchi, Watanabe, Williams

After short introduction of I. Williams, the current Division President (DP), who is also OC member of the C22, the business meeting was managed by P. Spurny, the current C22 Vice-President (VP).

In the beginning the meeting stood in silence in remembrance of deceased C22 members: A. Hajduk, B. L. Kashscheev, K. N. Kramer, G. W. Wetherill, F. L. Whipple.

- 1. The Vice-President informed that unfortunately the standard Commission Report for the IAU Transactions was not prepared this time. Thanks to the Division President, at least a very limited version edited by DP, VP and J. Borovicka was prepared. It was decided that such a situation is not acceptable in the future and that at the end of the next triennium the Commission Report in the standard form has to be compiled.
- 2. Report of the C22 Pro-am Working Group

P. Jenniskens presented his report describing the heavy commitment of members in many campaigns and noted the important role of amateurs in meteor astronomy and their strong activity. The WG was contributing to commission work, was very active and should continue at least as a newly based Interest Group.

3. Election of new members

The IAU executive was represented by the current and forthcoming Division III presidents. The following new members to IAU and to C22 had been proposed:

Margaret D. CAMPBELL-BROWN (Canada) Yuri GORBANEV (Ukraine) Pavel KOTEN (Czech Republic) Katharina LODDERS (USA) Ian C. LYON (United Kingdom) Andrei B. MAKALKIN (Russian Federation) Michele MARIS (Italy) Juergen RENDTEL (Germany) Jérémie VAUBAILLON (France) Masayuki YAMAMOTO (Japan) Josep M. TRIGO-RODRIGUEZ (Spain)

Their acceptance was proposed and accepted with acclamation by the meeting.

## 4. Election of Executive

- a. Because of the absence of the C22 President, it was proposed by the present OC members as well as by the Division President that Pavel Spurny, the current C22 VP be the next President. Pavel's election was carried with acclamation.
- b. The new president proposed as a very suitable candidate for the next vice-president Jun-ichi Watanabe from Japan, who is well known for his long-lasting work in meteor astronomy. The proposal was carried with acclamation.
- c. The president also proposed J. Borovicka to be the new secretary of the Commission 22.
- d. C22 Organizing Committee

Noting the IAU Executive guidelines on numbers and their recommendation to rotate members within the constrictions of expertise, discussion converged to the election of the following members of the OC:

Jun-ichi Watanabe (Japan, vice-president) Jiri Borovicka (Czech Republic, secretary) William J. Baggaley (New Zealand) Peter G. Brown (Canada) Guy J. Consolmagno (Vatican City State) Petrus M. M. Jenniskens (USA) Asta K. Pellinen-Wannberg (Sweden) Vladimir Porubcan (Slovakia) Iwan P. Williams (UK) Hajime Yano (Japan)

5. Establishing and election of new Task Group for Meteor Shower Nomenclature

The Commission has established the Task Group for Meteor Shower Nomenclature with the objective to formulate criteria for the definition of meteor showers and to prepare a list of established meteor showers that can receive official names during the next IAU General Assembly. The objective of this action is to uniquely identify all existing meteor showers and thus facilitate the establishment of associations between meteor showers and parent bodies among the many Near-Earth Objects that are being discovered.

The Task Group for Meteor Shower Nomenclature will work from a working list of ~ 230 showers compiled from past publications. This working list will be posted at the website of the IAU Meteor Orbit Data Center: http://www.astro.sk/~ne/IAUMDC/Ph2003/. The working list can be extended with newly identified meteor showers. A subset of these showers will be selected for inclusion in the list of established meteor showers. The list of established meteor showers shall also be posted at the IAU Meteor Orbit Data Center website after the approval by the Commission.

Proposed members of the task group:

Peter Jenniskens Pavel Spurny	USA (head of the TG MSN) Czech Republic (President C22)
Juergen Rendtel	Germany (IMO representative)
Shinsuke Abe	Japan
Bob Hawkes	Canada
Jack Baggaley	New Zealand
Vladimir Porubcan	Slovakia (IAU Meteor Orbit Datacenter representative)
Tadeusz Jopek	Poland

The proposal was carried with acclamation.

## 6. Other business:

The proposed merging of the C22 with C21 was discussed and it was decided that the next opportunity for discussion between representatives of both commissions will be during the Meteoroids 2007 conference in Barcelona (June 11-15, 2007).

The meeting closed at 10:30.